A known stranger

March 9, 2011 at 3:01 pm 12 comments

Lekshmi, Fathima, Aliya or Clara, I don’t know her name is and what I suppose to call her. But as usual I saw her standing in front of that shopping complex with a fake smile, may be expecting her so called ‘friend’ . Her pretty blue eyes looks a bit tired and sad. The pain which radiates from her eyes made her appear more beautiful. She put a thick shade of some cheap red lipstick and her skirt was struggling to kiss her knees. Many people who passed her gave her a disgusting and nasty look. But she was still standing there ignoring them all or pretended like she hasn’t seen any of those. By the time a gentle man approached her and they had a chat for couple of minutes and both of them eventually got inside in his car and
disappeared

                                  Indhu 
 He touched me and tried to kiss my neck. I reluctantly and helplessly let him to do what ever he wants. A fake smile flashed on my face for him. As always I kept my mind plain, blank and Act as just a piece of hundred pound flesh for helping him to put down his booming lust. I pretended like I’m enjoying his nasty smell mixed with alcohol and his perspiration. When he kissed me, it reminded me my little brother’s good bye kiss and a ray of memories flashed through my mind.

                               Let me call myself Indhu. As everyone I came to this country with lot of dreams. For better life, my little brother’s education, mom’s treatment. But very next moment when I alighted the airport  my ‘uncle’ took my passport and I was locked in a small room in thatapartment for few days with few girls. First few days I resisted the ‘visitor’s’ who came to bid for my flesh and I wept for help for days, resisted to eat food. I couldn’t even think about killing myself, when the pleasant smile of my little brother and mom’s face came to my mind. Finally
I helplessly gave up everything like other girls in my room. Now I don’t have anything to loose. Initially I wanted to take revenge on those beasts.But what a helpless person like me can do. But I wish I can, At least to prevent the formation of another Indhu’s like me. Don’t know. But I too have hope,at least for a better life for my family.

By the time when I was about to get out from the shop she came back to the same place like nothing had happened. She tried to straighten her shabby hair and wrinkles in her clothes and started expecting for her next ‘friend’. When I passed her she flashed a smile on me and I just smiled back and walked away.  I don’t know why she is doing this. For what she is doing
this? May be for a meal or better life for her sibling’s or to find money for the treatment of her husband. May be they don’t know what she is doing for supporting them. But in case if they come to know also they mayn’t blame her. How can they?  By this time some should have approached her and moved away. I don’t know. Why should I care? She is not anyone of me .Just a tresspasser. Yeah why should I care

Entry filed under: fiction, Social Issues. Tags: , .

Some post recession rants On the beach , with my girls….

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Smita  |  March 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Hey Anish, how are you? 🙂

    me :I’m doin great Smita…how U have been…how is U’r cutie pie doing 🙂

    Loved the way you brought out the two aspects of the story, one of the passerby & the other of the victim! We are usually very judgemental of people without knowing the real reason behind his/ her actions!

    me: An appreciation from U….can’t ask more 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. scorpiogenius  |  March 9, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    hello there! Long time no see… 🙂
    Busy at work?

    Reply
    • 3. Anish  |  May 7, 2011 at 10:58 am

      yeahh was bust at work Ji…how U have been

      Reply
  • 4. Rajlakshmi  |  March 9, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    woww after a long time!!!
    thats really sad… sometimes compulsion make girls land in wrong places

    Reply
    • 5. Anish  |  May 7, 2011 at 11:16 am

      thanks Raja Lakshmi 🙂 …yeahh U r right 😦 …

      Reply
  • 6. UmaS  |  March 10, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Apppappppappppa…..finally a post here….I thot u had forgotten u had a blog too…. 🙂

    me : huhuhuhu ….haapy to know u people still remember me…it motivate me enough to be active again

    And thats a brilliant way of writing two perspectives to the same situation. U’ve written it so well Anish.

    me: Thanks Uma 🙂 , nice to know u have got my message

    Reply
  • 7. ariyathe  |  March 13, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    =) Like!
    I really like how you put together the two difference perspectives. The insider and the outsider were equally intriguing.
    Points out how sad it is when we judge without understanding..

    Reply
    • 8. Anish  |  May 7, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Thanks ariyathe…..the fact is always different 😦 ….

      Reply
  • 9. Happy Kitten  |  March 15, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    That was too good!

    U have brought out the dilemma so well.. and it is easy for us to judge..

    Reply
    • 10. Anish  |  May 7, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Thanks chechi 🙂

      Reply
  • 11. Thomson  |  December 6, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    Hello,

    I happened to go through your blog a couple of days back and was impressed. Let me get straight to the point. We have a forum at http://www.chennaichatter.com exclusively for Chennai-ites where we discuss various issues pertaining to Chennai and the nation. I think it would be great if you join us and take part in the debates. It would add a whole new class to the discussions.

    Have a great day!
    Thomson.

    Reply
  • 12. Gayathree  |  March 7, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    Congrats you have been nominated for the Liebster blog award! Please click the link below and comply with the rules in order to acknowledge! Cheers! 🙂

    http://gayathreeganesan.blogspot.in/2013/03/the-liebster-blog-award-is-mine.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,308 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

