Lift

March 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm 45 comments

This post has been picked by BlogAdda for there Tangy Tuesday Picks .Thank you guys for the encouragement  


While driving his car through the deserted highway, he sipped a another can of heiniken and uttered.” boo 2 AM, hmm it is pretty spooky to drive through this deserted high way, that too in midnight”

Suddenly he spotted a girl waving her hands towards his car.
Before he told anything she got inside the car and told


“Hi I’m Lisa. My car got broke down .Past one hour I was asking lift to those who passed by .Thank god At least you stopped by. Thanks man”. She giggled at him seductively .He smiled back.
He (to his conscious): who is she? Highway robber or a hooker?
He sipped a another bottle of beer and asked her
He: Who are you? Where do you want to go?
She: Ohh yea I’m working with an interior design firm in city. Today we had a party and my bad luck, while coming back my car got repaired. I live nearby Woodstock and if you don’t mind you can drop me there. Hope I’m not disturbing you. Between what I’m suppose to call you.
He: Ohh don’t tell like that. In fact I’m also was wishing a company. It is really shuddery to drive through this deserted highway in midnight and I’m Vinod Scaria.

They talked for a while. Suddenly the car made a loud boom and the engine got off. He tried to start the car but it went vain. When he opened the bonnet, steam and smoke burst out from the engine .she came out from the car and looked at his face helplessly.

He: yeahh you were right today is not a good day for you. I guess we have to sleep somewhere here till in the morning
She:
–beep– –beep– …Vinod shall we look for someone to help us
He: Are you nuts Lisa. Who will be here to help us in midnight?
She looked around for someone or some house
She: Hey check out that, it seems like that is a church. Why don’t we go there and take rest until morning


She started running towards the church. He took the flashlight, a newspaper and a bottle of whisky and followed her

He:Ohh no, it is closed .I think it is better we should go back to the car
She looked around and told …”why don’t we go to cemetery and take rest”
He: Are you nuts lady. I don’t have guts to sleep in a cemetery in this creepy midnight. You sleep in your cemetery with your ghost friends and I will sleep in my car.
She: Hey come-on vinod. Don’t be like a teenager, be a man. There is no ghost or something like that. All that craps are fictitious
Finally he reluctantly agreed to her and moved towards a tomb which looks like nobody cleaned it for ages.
She: Dude this is not fair. Almost past 1 hour we are travelling together you didn’t even show the manners to ask me whether I need a beer.
He: Ohh you drink. Sorry I’m having a bottle of whisky only.
She: What ever. Give me no, I need something to make me warm in this chilling night
He: Great, Then lets go and get some water to mix this ‘holy drink’
She: What!!! are you scared to go alone to get water haa…dude this is too much


He sheepishly smiled at her and moved to get the water. While he was away for water she took the newspaper he was having and tried to read it in the light of flashlight.
“Sri Lanka won the world cup”.
What the heck I heard they won the world cup 13 years back”. She checked the date and started laughing loudly and uttered “Herald, March-13-1996.This guy is really crazy. Who will carry the 14 year old newspaper?” She browsed through the newspaper and suddenly she shocked after seeing a photo in the obituary column. She couldn’t believe her eyes.
She: today is March 13…ohh I can’t believe he is…He is.
She got up from the tomb without wasting the time and started running frantically. Suddenly her leg got locked somewhere and she fall down and hit her head on a nearby tomb. After she saw the name on the tomb she screamed hysterically and tried to get up and run. But it went vain and she fainted.

Next morning when she got up, she found a big crowd in that cemetery. A group of police where carrying a corpse of a young girl to ambulance. And photographers were flashing the body. When she looked at the body closer she understood that it was her corpse. She tried to scream, shout, and call the people standing next to her. But no one heard it or saw her. Suddenly she heard a familiar voice from behind
“Vinod scaria, Born 8-08-68, Dead 12-03-96.May his soul RIP”. It was him
He: So now you believe in ghosts young lady, huh….ha ha ha .Anyways Welcome to the world of this ‘salvager’ of souls.
She helplessly screamed at the top of her voice

P.S: Don’t search for me, no one is going to find me out. This is my first attempt to write a fiction. That is why I pressed publish button

Entry filed under: fiction, Misadventures. Tags: , , .

An attempt to be honest Cursed – The wicked board

45 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nona  |  March 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Pretty good considering this is first attempt.

    And stop scaring me. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. anishthomas  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      ROFL ,Ohh thanks nona bhai.You made my day 🙂
      between don’t give lift to strangers 😀 😀

      Reply
  • 3. ariy  |  March 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Ok, so reading this so early in the morning was a bad idea… no no, the writing was great! But that was scary!!
    haha I felt a ghost story coming on but I thought it was the girl, which I guess would have been cliché. So very nice twist=]

    Reply
    • 4. anishthomas  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      Haha you should suppose to read it in midnight 😀 :D.I started writing it by keeping the girl as the ghost.But i understood it is easy to guess it.That is why i changed it.Glad you liked it.Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. silverine  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Wow! Best ghost story I have read in a while. Totally new twist in the end.

    Reply
    • 6. anishthomas  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      Wow an appreciation from the blog queen !!!!!!!!.I won’t ask anything more 😀 😀
      I wrote this story almost one month back.Coz i didn’t get a proper climax i thought of deleting it.Glad you liked the twist.Thanks 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Dreamer  |  March 12, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I really thought the girl was going to turn out to be the ghost! Nice!!!

    Reply
    • 8. anishthomas  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      I know that ,thats y i shaped up the twist like that.It took a while for me to write a convincing climax.Actually today i planned to delete the entire post.Thanks :).

      Reply
  • 9. Adarsh  |  March 12, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    nice short(ghost story) story…..

    Reply
    • 10. anishthomas  |  March 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

      Thanks da…see ya on tommorow 😀 😀

      Reply
  • 11. Rajlakshmi  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    wow thats scary 😀
    nice story 🙂 i thought the girl was a ghost 😛

    Reply
    • 12. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      lol , seems everyone guessed girl was a ghost , thanks 😀

      Reply
  • 13. Smita  |  March 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

    If anyone will look for you then it wud be to say “write more fiction :)”

    I liked the story & the twist!! I mean I had thought that the girl would be the ghost but it was the other way round hehehe…

    Great Atempt I say 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Ohh Smitaji ,Yours was the most anticipated comment.Glad you liked the story and the twist.Thank you so much for the encouragement 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Pal  |  March 13, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    This was EXCELLENT! Loved it. And for a first, this was awesome. More please…

    Reply
    • 16. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

      Ohh thanks pal and are you sure you want more from me 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. scorpiogenius  |  March 14, 2010 at 12:28 am

    not a bad first attempt.. 😉
    though the presumed hunter became the hunter at last 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      Hahah , thanks scorpy 😉

      Reply
  • 19. Annie  |  March 14, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    keep writing…waiting for the next one 🙂

    Reply
    • 20. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      Sure Annie , thanks for dropping by after a long time 😀

      Reply
  • 21. hitchwriter  |  March 14, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    that was actually nice Anish !

    Reply
  • 23. Happy Kitten  |  March 14, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    You scared me Anish….. and there was suspense too….

    Do write more…

    Reply
    • 24. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:10 pm

      haha ..I thought i can scare only small kids.
      thanks and sure i will , until u guys ask me to stop haha 🙂

      Reply
  • 25. UmaS  |  March 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    When she read the date, I think the clue was out.

    Anyway, nicely written !!! First attempt ???? Done very well, Anish !!!

    Reply
    • 26. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      I consciously did that.Coz i had only two characters in the story and i didn’t want to hold the suspense for a long time.Anyways thanks for pointing it.May be next time i can come with a more gripping climax
      yeahh it is my first attempt and Thank you so much Umaji 😀

      Reply
  • 27. aparna  |  March 15, 2010 at 10:03 am

    That was the first attempt? difficult to believe!

    Reply
    • 28. anishthomas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      First of all welcome to views and wishes Aparna 😀

      Hehe believe it or not that is the fact 😉 🙂

      Reply
  • 29. aativas  |  March 15, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Good stuff .. bit scary though.. but the turn and twist was indeed effective..

    Reply
    • 30. anishthomas  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:54 am

      First of all Welcome here aativas 🙂 ,
      I know what everyone will predict and that made my job easy :D……….Thanks man 🙂

      Reply
  • 31. Sorcerer  |  March 15, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    This is really good..
    loved the narration.
    keep em comming

    Reply
    • 32. anishthomas  |  March 16, 2010 at 10:52 am

      Thanks sorci 🙂 ….But the fact is I can write only supernatural\psychological stories and this scares me.

      Reply
  • 33. Vimmuuu  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Pandaaradangaaan !!! paadiraathri thanne idu vaayichu ! good I am at office now ! Or else, I wouldve been the first one to come searching you ! Good one Bro.

    me : lol,thanks vimmu…..I wrote it in the midnight 2 O’clock .even i got scared after reading it 🙂

    Loved the twist. But there is a very similar twist in that RGVs movie – Darna Mana Hain (or Darna Zaroori Hain) that Vivek Oberoi – Nana Patekar part.

    me : Ohh really…will check out it now ,thanks for sharing the info …i haven’t seen either of that(saw 2 stories in darna mana hai and didn’t like it,so haven’t watch the later instalments).I hate RGV and i prefer mahesh bhutt-Abbas mustan when it come indian thrillers.Last month while coming back from office at midnight 1AM ,one guy asked me for a lift at chetpet bridge and i didn’t stop my bike coz i felt he look like a robber(this is how i got the plot).I wrote this story by keeping girl as the ghost(like killing guys on full moon days) and she is revealing the reason behind this as a sub plot to the guy before killing him .But after reading it even i felt it is a drag and thought of deleting it .But then this idea striked me like swapping the villain and i cut shorted the story to one page.Climax is slightly inspired from Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho :).

    Reply
  • 34. Nimmy  |  March 17, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Indeed interesting and well-written..Honestly anish.. I don’t read stories,I don’t have the patience to read till end,but this was interesting and i read till end..Cool twist,i thought the girl was the Ghost…Bhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooooooooooot

    Congrats for being picked by Blogadda…

    Reply
    • 35. anishthomas  |  March 17, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      haaa i’m honored Nimmy chechi 😀 …….This is one of the biggest compliment i have got so far.
      Thank you so much and congrats to you too 😛

      Reply
  • 36. chatterbox  |  March 17, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Wow! so you are full into fiction (just like me) but on a real serious level (horror).

    That was spooky. Like everyone I too had thought the girl would be the ghost, and your wonderful twist sent shivers down my spine.

    That was a fantastic attempt at fiction Anish 🙂

    Keep ’em coming buddy 😀

    Congrats on being the Blogadda pick 🙂

    Cheers!!

    Reply
    • 37. anishthomas  |  March 28, 2010 at 7:47 pm

      haha thanks for the encouragement CB :d

      Reply
  • 38. Sathis  |  March 18, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    Matchi,
    Super, did a simple and super story!!!

    Reply
    • 39. anishthomas  |  March 28, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Ohh sathish , thanks and welcome to my space 😀

      Reply
  • 40. kanagu  |  March 21, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Dude… surely some ghost is within you 😆 😆

    the twist is real good and congrats on the blog adda pick 🙂 🙂

    Reply
    • 41. anishthomas  |  March 28, 2010 at 7:57 pm

      Even i think so Kanagu and thanks 😀

      Reply
  • 42. UmaS  |  April 6, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Blogadda pick ??? How did I miss that ???

    Anyway, Congrats to you. Certainly deserving post. 🙂

    Reply
    • 43. AT  |  April 14, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Thanks Uma 🙂

      Reply
  • 44. Neha  |  May 14, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I enjoyed readin this!! Good work Anish!!
    Anish : That appreciation meant a lot to me Neha 🙂
    Appreciate it!!
    Anish : 🙂

    Reply
  • 45. Destination Infinity  |  June 2, 2012 at 10:11 am

    OMG. That was scary! I thought she was the ghost, and how the story twisted. Utter HORROR 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,545 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

