Smart Idiots

January 18, 2010 at 12:48 pm 28 comments

At one side, a born gifted artist who is famous for creating publicity stunts and controversies for promoting his movies and on the other side a prominent author who claim “He has made Indians read never like before”.
When I heard about all this controversy (3 idiots and five point), initially I was surprised. First of all Bollywood is an industry which is famous for cut-copy, Xerox copy, stealing, inspiration, plagiarism, etc (not only story, plot but also songs). And here in this case at least they brought all the rights from him and already acknowledged the plot is based on his book (and also producer of the movie stated that “in the agreement between the producer and Bhagat, it was clearly mentioned that the author’s name would be
put in the closing credits”. Anyways after seeing the movie, again I got confused that, why chetan made such a big scene (he claimed that movie was 70% of the book). But I felt that they lifted just the characters and also few incidents (that to not a straight lift).I enjoyed the book and the movie properly. Because of this controversy both chetan and producers where equally benefited. The movie is already one of the biggest blockbusters in the history of Bollywood and according to the leading bookstores there is almost 35 percent increase in this book’s sales after the movie release. Few days back one of my friend (she is a big movie buff and haven’t read even a single book in her lifetime) whether I have got the ‘five point someone….’ and she also asked me whether I have got his other books also. We can imagine like her how many people would have brought this book just to kill the curiosity and after they heard about chetan (which is obliviously coz of the success of 3 idiots and all these controversy) .And also many of those who read the book also would have gone the movie to check, how the book got shaped up as a movie. So it is damn sure both side were equally benefited. After all (because of this controversy or not) chetan, vidhu vinod chopra are already laughing all the way to the bank. I guess if all this was not for a publicity stunt, then they all could have sit together for few hours and resolved all those confusions ,complaints in a decent manner rather than spicing up everything before the public. After all media and public got a ‘hot’ topic to gossip for few days. So at the end of the day I think everyone is equally happy about all these

P.S: I’m neither against the movie or book and also I’m against plagiarism. But I felt here things are a little different and wanted to write my views about the same (especially after seeing Vidhu chopra’s statement about the end credits).As I said earlier, I properly enjoyed the book and the movie

Entry filed under: Current Affairs, Reviews, Seriously. Tags: , , , , , .

Focus On Your Blessings For Whom , For What

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rajlakshmi  |  January 18, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    the drama never ends when it comes to media… just a publicity stunt… neither Amir stupid enough to not see the relation between the movie and book also nor Chetan is an idiot not to gain benefits and sign a contract just like that… both have been profitted … and we got out daily dose of gossip 🙂 hehehe
    I loved both the movie and the book 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      he he exactly , we got a hot topic to gossip about few days 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Smita  |  January 18, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Hmmm I already have keyed in my views on this but in a way I agree with you.

    You know when 2 States had released I was telling my friend that Chetan Bhagat is Amir Khan of Bollywood in terms of Marketing. He knows how to mkt his books, be it with pricing or the timing of the release of his books (2 States was released during Diwali period and was extensively available at rly stations).

    Now we have both the so called marketing gurus then something like HAD to happen!!!!

    Reply
    • 4. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Exactly Smita 🙂 , Now he got a free publicity for his next book too 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Indian Homemaker  |  January 18, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I agree. It was so clearly a smart marketing gimmick 🙂 I liked and enjoyed the movie too – Indians need to watch such movies no doubt
    me : true 😀
    but I thought the humour seemed to trivialise crimes against women.
    me : who cares about that IHM , I mean anyways everyone enjoyed the movie properly 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Dreamer  |  January 18, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I am one of those who enjoyed both the book and the movie. I am sure their highly public spat helped promote the movie as well as the book and it’s author :D. I guess that in the end “all izz well”, eh?

    Reply
    • 7. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:06 pm

      Exactly Dreamer , all is well in the end 😀 ….kudos to both of them

      Reply
  • 8. Swaram  |  January 18, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Aah they do need something to gain more publicity and off they went! I njoyed both of them equally too .. a first for me actually, bcoz I prefer reading anyday to watching it on screen 😀

    Reply
    • 9. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:04 pm

      Yeahh me too enjoyed.I thought movie is a frame to frame copy of book, so i skipped it initially.Later i watched it and enjoyed it properly 🙂

      Reply
  • 10. Nona  |  January 18, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    As you said, the book and the movie profited at the end. IMO, but for this controversy, the books sales would not have gone up! There is no point discussing the ticket sales as the movie had been declared a colossal hit by that time! May be VVC wanted to milk a wee bit more!

    Reply
    • 11. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      Yeah everyone is profited at the end 🙂 ……so at the end of the day all is well for both side 🙂

      Reply
  • 12. kanagu  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    as I said machi… there are lot of scenes lifted from the book.. and the thing is they can’t show the IIT in this.. so they changed the college name…

    then principal’s daughter fells in love with protagonist… there are lot of lifted ones….

    anyway I didn’t watched any news channels for a long time.. so I had a little knowledge about all the tussle..

    Reply
    • 13. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Yeahh they lifted few scenes,But we should not forget they brought the rights before.And those funny stunts they showed before media , i will say there are definitely smart idiots

      Reply
  • 14. scorpiogenius  |  January 19, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Its been a great publicity controversy benefiting everyone involved. Whoz complaining, allz well man! Kudos to Aamir Khan and also the outspoken Chetan…

    Reply
    • 15. anishthomas  |  January 19, 2010 at 11:59 am

      lol…. Yeah at the end of the day that matters 🙂

      Reply
  • 16. Vimmuuu  |  January 20, 2010 at 2:20 am

    I actually dont agree to this. If a movie is based on a book, due credit should be given in the beginning and not at the end, even if its 10% cuz without the book that movie could never be made. When we copy Hollywood movies here, why dont we copy their practice of acknowledging the real source. Some things dont change here and it will never !

    and I personally dont think its a marketing gimmick too. He voiced his opinions in his blog and the media hyped it ! Im sure we all wouldve reacted similarly !

    Reply
    • 17. anishthomas  |  January 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      Ohh i didn’t know that.I wrote this post mainly based on the news channels reports.But seems in the agreement it is mentioned that his name will be shown in end credits(hirani showed it in a press conference)
      Yeahh agree with U..Bollywood never acknowledge the orginal refrences.It is never gonna change.I was surprised to hear many of pritams composition are even copied from western and korean songs.

      Reply
    • 18. chatterbox  |  January 21, 2010 at 5:12 pm

      I am in total agreement with Vimmuuu on this.
      Though I have neither seen the movie nor read the book, but this issue had been the talk of the internet and blogs from quite some time.

      Great point raised Vimmuuu. Had the story been inspired by my book, I too would appreciate an acknowledgment in the start where everyone would see it rather than at the end where everyone is in hurry to get out of the Cinema hall.

      Wonderful post Anish 🙂 Loved the way you shared your views against plagiarism.

      Cheers!!

      Reply
      • 19. anishthomas  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:54 pm

        Thats fine, But anyways he should have checked the agreement properly before signing it.But i feel all this controversies were quite unnecessary
        Thanks CB 🙂

  • 20. Pal  |  January 22, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Completely agree with you on this. The movie is only loosely based on the book, and CB only made huge mileage out of the entire controversy.
    Blogrolling you!

    Reply
    • 21. anishthomas  |  January 22, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      Hey welcome here pal 🙂 ,
      Nice to hear , you too agree with me ,
      thanks 😀

      P.S : Hey upload the pics . yesterday we had a another get together 🙂

      Reply
      • 22. Sakshi  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:48 pm

        all of you survived after meeting up with Vimmu in Chennai? 😯 i bow to you all :mrgreen: Btw where can I see the pics?

        me : it is there in FB 🙂

      • 23. anishthomas  |  January 23, 2010 at 8:36 pm

        woeh utna bura nahe hai sakshi :)…In fact question should be like, did he survive after meeting all of us 😉 😀

        pinne puthiya pic kollam…idivettu style 😉 🙂

      • 24. Sakshi  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:14 pm

        ROFL at idivettu style…I hope to electrocute a couple of people with this pic :mrgreen:

        me : 😀

  • 25. Sakshi  |  January 22, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Hmmm…I don’t know what to say about all this Chetan Hirani controversy. I had read the book years ago when it was first published. To be honest I picked it up bcoz it was based on IIT Delhi and my husband was a student there at that time. yup, the foundation of the movie is definitely based on the book and yet Hirani had spun it in his own way.
    me : yeah Exactly , so you are also an IITan

    One thing I am sure of is that Chetan Bhagat being the intelligent IIT ian he is supposed to be would not be taken on a ride by the producers. Like you said Chetan has benefited from the controversy and his books are selling beyond the IIT and North Indian circle 😆 Aamir’s movie will sell to a super full box office with controversy or not 😥

    me : At least U have got my point sakshi 🙂 …he is a smart ass 😀

    Reply
    • 26. Sakshi  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      hee..hoo..haa…Thanks for making my day!! at least you are the wonly one in this world who at least thought that I could be an IIT ian :mrgreen: Sigh!!! na I am not but unfortunately my husband is 😥

      me : heheh….u should be happy about that 🙂

      Reply
  • 27. Happy Kitten  |  January 26, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    thought I shall comment once I see the movie.. but think I am the only one still left to see this so called famous movie..

    and havent read the book too…

    guess both the author and those who made this film has profitted enough and more….. nd if strict laws come in force then we shall have less movies 🙂

    Reply
    • 28. anishthomas  |  January 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm

      nd if strict laws come in force then we shall have less movies ….ROFL 😀 ..exactly….u said that in just one sentence 🙂 …loved the comment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,308 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

