Some random Shopping tales

November 3, 2009 at 11:58 am 44 comments

“Dude, if you are not in a hurry, can you gimme a lift to health and glow and then to my apartment”. One of my friend called me and told, when I was about to leave from office. I’m a bit ‘allergic’ to this shop. The sales girls\guys in this shop are ‘trained’ to tempt you for buying all the needed\unwanted stuff (*from the experience of yours truly and his friends).Few years back, after doing some shopping to attend my cousin’s marriage, I headed to this shop to buy a sunscreen and hair gel (that was the first time in my life I went there).
The sales girls asked me what I want and I answered her. But she convinced me to buy another brand to my preferred one. Then another sales girl approached me and asked

S.G: Sir, you have got lot of open pores on your face, just look at this mirror.
after doing some close examination I felt that she is right (though I have never noticed it before) ;).
Me: yeah I can see a few. But what is the problem in that?
S.G: Sir it doesn’t looks good. It looks awkward; you have to tighten those pores.
I was thinking there, that why she is concerned about me so much 🙄
Before I told anything, she brought some skin toner and told me
S.G: Use this product .With in one month you will see the result
Me: I don’t think it is necessary for me, will you bill these products fast


Then she gave me a lecture about the nature of my skin and how good that product for my skin for next few minutes.i became tired of her lecture, so finally she won the battle and I brought it (one reason 4 that is I wanna look best at my family function 😉 ).
While moving towards the bill counter another sales girl approached me and asked me whether I have hair loss problem or not and I told no and moved away. she told me like

S.G 2: Sir just 1 min listen 2 me ,use this hair oil, so that in future, you won’t be suffering from any hair lose problem and also it has good cooling effect.

I couldn’t stop laughing to that, first time I heard about some product (and approached by someone) to prevent hair loss in future. Anyways I didn’t let her to proceed and promptly avoided her and moved to billing counter. When I was about to pay this bill another sales girl approached me (hmm it was not that bad, been the center of attraction of this much girls 😉 )

S.G 3: Sir you are lucky to have normal skin type. Use this face pack once in a week. It is very necessary for this climate and also if you are sitting in air conditioned room for a long time. Use this product and see the result after a week. It will make your skin glow like anything

(They all were talking to me as if I’m the only person who don’t have self –awareness in that area 😕 ) I felt like telling her, till I came here I (my skin) was perfectly fine. So will u please leave me alone
I just thanked her, paid the money and immediately left the space, before someone else caught me. After this incident,I always used to be very careful with that shop.

Though, it happened few years back. When my friend called me, I recalled this incident first. But as also I have to buy a deo and hair oil I agreed to drop her there. I asked my friend to pick up a deo for me and I moved to hair oil stack .As expected one sales girl approached me and asked me “whath dho you whaanth” in her fake British accent. Though I have a regular hair care products brand I just asked her can u suggest good non sticky hair oil. She took the product of an international renowned brand and started explaining its benefits. I told her that, that product is not good and then took my favorite brand .Though there was a big queue in the cash counter, I gave my pick to my friend and waited at cash counter. I was curious about, why there is such a big crowd in a personal care and cosmetic shop. So I just peeped at others basket (just for time pass). It was a bit funny. One young foreign lady who were standing in the end of the queue, by holding a 10 rupee mini tissue pack (no comments about it….I was struggling there to control my laugh) Another lady was holding a small packet of ‘ladies only stuff’ and a tooth brush, waiting for her turn in that long queue (was wondering there, now a days medical shops and super markets are not stocking these stuff or what). When I told about the same to my friend, she told me like, “It is something like an addiction, a form of shopaholism. They experience some kind of satisfaction, when they spend some time or purchase something (though it is useful or not) in those particular places” .Anyways when we were about to leave the space old sales girl came running towards us and asked me

S.G: Sir Can I ask you something me: yeah sure
S.G: y did you say, that hair oil is not good. me: what happened, why did you ask?
S.G: (in a panicked tone) I’m using it for past 1 month; please tell me what is wrong with that product.
We couldn’t stop laughing at her question and at her panicked expression.My friend answered her that “it contains silicon, so as per doctors advise it is not recommended for daily use(though it make your hair shine instantly but later on it may cause serious drawbacks like frizzy hair, hair fall and also problems for scalp etc”(always chose hair care products that does not contain silicon).She thanked us and left(her facial expression was priceless , and anyways it was payback time for us).

Anyways after a tiring week in office that short shopping was a perfect fun experience for us.

P.S: I didn’t mean to insult anyone (any characters mentioned here) in this post. @ H & G – It is a very good shop, were we can purchase all the local\international brands of our choice. Only thing is you have to be a bit careful with the sales persons.

Trivia: Saw this movie on last week – A Walk on the Moon . Loved it (good performance from lead actors and very good BG music) .Grab the DVD and watch it if you like unconventional movies)

Entry filed under: Misadventures, Personal. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Chetan Bhagat’s ‘ Two states: The story of my marriage ‘ Not Another ‘Ragging’ Story

44 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Swaram  |  November 3, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Ha ha ha I hd fun reading this too 😛
    The last part where she came and asked u abt the oil ws the ultimate 😉 Like climax in a movie!

    Reply
    • 2. anishthomas  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      hehe 😀 swaram then think about us.You should have seen her face at that time :D…poor girl 😀

      Reply
  • […] Continued here: Some random Shopping stories « My Views and Wishes […]

    Reply
  • 4. Smita  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    lol!!!

    Sales People can be a real pain!!! In Cafe Coffee day also they are hell bent in putting add ons to your normal order. But we can not blame these guys also na, their incentives are based on sales!!!

    But yes we shouldn’t be vulnerable to their tactics!!!

    Reply
    • 5. anishthomas  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:07 pm

      Very true Smita.That is why i never used to be rude with these guys(and also with those annoying telecallers) , though at times there acts are irritating.Yeahh but that is not an excuse for falling at there buttering.We have to be a little sensible else it will end up in tearing our wallet 😀

      Reply
  • 6. Smitha  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    That was a fun read, Anish! I always liked H&G. They do have pushy salesgirls but I kind of tell them that I will help myself and they then leave me alone 🙂

    But as a shop I like H&G for the wide variety that you get there.

    Reply
    • 7. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:51 am

      I agree with that smitha chechi , no where else we can find all the brands in single shop(especially perfumes,deo’s and all).Earlier those sales girls were an issue.Now i will straightaway go and pick what i want and move to bill counter 😉

      Reply
  • 8. kanagu  |  November 4, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Thats really funny machi… This kinda thing happened when I went to buy mobile, where a guy kept on asking me to put screen guard for my new mobile, but the price is lil high but i Gave in 😦

    Reply
    • 9. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:43 am

      Thats why kanagu , when ever i go for shopping now a days, i never keep more than 500 bucks in my wallet(but at times my card cheat me :D).You have to be very carefull with chennai shops 🙂

      Reply
  • 10. Solilo  |  November 4, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Ha..ha..ha..ha..

    Anish, My mom and I were at such a store in Kerala and the lady asked me if I would like to try anti-aging cream. I turned RED and my mom burst into laughter. Imagine their audacity to ask me to try that cream and not my mom. 😦

    I was so MAD.

    Reply
    • 11. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:32 am

      He he 😀 …that was classic Solilo, But you know something ,unlike in metros, these sales girls(in kerala shops) are from very poor families(they don’t even no what is a moisturiser and what is its use,so no wonder they offered anti aging cream.literaly they are ‘illiterate’ about these products).So may be that is the reason why they offered it to you.I have worst experiances .Few months back i went to a shop for buying some DVD’s .Hope i don’t have to mention here what ‘special stuff’ they offered me lol 😉 .

      Reply
  • 12. Dreamer  |  November 4, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    😀 ” till I came here I (my skin) was perfectly fine”. H&G is last place you want to go to if you have self esteem issues. They do make you feel that you look like something that crawled out from under a rock. And the worst part is that the girls seem to have been trained to hunt in packs!

    Reply
    • 13. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 12:42 pm

      you look like something that crawled…. that was ultimate dreamer 😀 …in fact i wrote the same in this post (instead of crawled ,i used early man).But i felt this post was a bit drag , so I deleted it along with few other lines 😉 .
      @trained to hunt — they have to, coz there salary , perks all are depends upon the sales only

      Reply
  • 14. Happy Kitten  |  November 4, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    LOL! That was a good one…

    nd hence sometimes it is good to shop in a self help shops or were the sales people are least bothered about you.. I think i always prefer that…but then all of us have always fallen for their gimmicks one time or the other.. nd yes it is their livelihood and hence cant complain..

    nd my FIL still falls for all those guys and gals who now keep visiting the houses – the door to door sales people.. the last time it was a blind that cost too much.. we had all gone out leaving both MIL and FIL behind and came back to see the new blind partially hiding FIL who was on his usual easy chair on the sit out (his explanation was that now he can see everyone who walks by the road but none can see him and hence no sales people will tempt him any more !) but pacifying MIL took days!

    Reply
    • 15. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 4:07 pm

      Everybody fallen for them at some point of time.After all these are kinda some learning experiences 🙂 .
      @ FIL — his justification was ultimate 😀 .This is the reason why i like achAyans in kerala.Only they can come up with classic onliners like this 😀
      @ now keep visiting the … …..ohhh those fellows are still there huh…I rememeber allmost 10-12 years my mom also used to fallen for there buildups.But after 2-3 times she realized it and never entertained them in our compound there after 😉 .they sell very low quality chineese products.

      Reply
  • 16. Deeps  |  November 4, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    that was fun to read! so you seem to be much in demand among girls 😆 😛

    Reply
    • 17. anishthomas  |  November 4, 2009 at 7:41 pm

      Deeps ,that was a gud one he he 🙂 .But what is the use ,i’m not interested in the girls who were interested in me and the girls i’m interested considering me as good friend or brother …sigh 🙄

      Reply
  • 18. Bhagwad Jal Park  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I always feel awkard when salespeople come uninvited and try and sell stuff to me. In many instances I may have purchased an item, but because someone came after me, I would not.

    Often I won’t even glance into a shop for fear of someone noticing and then trying to catch me…is it this way with everyone? Do some people actually buy things when salespeople pounce on them?

    Reply
    • 19. anishthomas  |  November 5, 2009 at 7:16 pm

      That is there life bhagwad.They have to do that to earn for there bread.
      noticing and then trying to catch me…hehe its same with most of them dude,though majority won’t accept it.After all we all are human beings with limitaions and weekness 😉

      Reply
  • 20. Vimmuuu  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:27 am

    LOL !!! Machhooo kalakki !!! Now, just do me a favor ! You are in chennai , right? So am I !! Tell me, which is that Health and Glow shop where you got mobbed ??? Pleaaaaseee !!! 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Reply
    • 21. anishthomas  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      sure vimmu ,my pleasure to “share\pass knowledge” 😀 😀
      I got mobbed in the one in abhirami mall and second one happend in nungampakam.Check out nungampakam H & G ,thats one of the ‘happening spot’ 😉 ……kinda double ‘maaazza’ 😀 😀

      Reply
  • 22. ariyathe  |  November 6, 2009 at 4:28 am

    haha that poor sales girl!!
    I remember going to this realllllly small “fancy store” in kerala and I was just looking for this one particular style of ring for my sister and obviously we were MOBBED by the “latest fashions”, complete with Vanitha cover demonstrations. =] I think we were in there for like 2 hours!! haha shopping in those type of stores is in itself amazing!

    Reply
    • 23. anishthomas  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:56 pm

      First of all , welcome to my space ariyathe 😀
      ohhh in kerala too :D.goodness I never experinced same over there 🙂
      you think , “shopping in those stores is amazing!” ….may god save U hehe 🙂

      Reply
      • 24. ariyathe  |  November 7, 2009 at 8:56 am

        haha once someone learns to love shopping (more for its ‘art’ than its necessity), one begins to enjoy things like these (and lose some sanity perhaps, but that’s a different story ;).. haha)

      • 25. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:06 pm

        heheh 😀 …no comments…good for them… 🙂 😀 😀

  • 26. Pins N Ashes  |  November 6, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Apart from these pesty and competing sales girls, I love shopping at H&G… I love the fun when the girsl fight amongst themselves to get a customer and sell their product….

    and the climax was wonderful, avenged, at last!!!

    Have wonderful weekend Anish
    Ashes

    Reply
    • 27. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:12 pm

      Hehe thanks pins and ashes 🙂 ……But seems now a days there are following queue 😀 .

      Reply
  • 28. Pins N Ashes  |  November 6, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Oh! yes forgot to add, shopping fiasco….a sales man looked at me a few yrs back and said, ‘I think u have stretch marks beneath ur eyes.’

    Shocked!
    chocked!
    and then I couldn’t help but laughing……

    Ashes

    Reply
    • 29. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:14 pm

      wowwwwww….LMAOF….that was a killer one pins and ashes :D….i can imagine how much fun U had on that day….between if there is something like best comment for this post,then this comment will be eligible for that

      Reply
      • 30. Pins N Ashes  |  November 19, 2009 at 3:55 pm

        Wow!! a pat on the back for me then Anish Thank u:)))

      • 31. anishthomas  |  November 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

        lol hehe 😀 😀

  • 32. Rajlakshmi  |  November 6, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    lolzzzz that is so funny… the SGs really irritate… one cannot even shop peacefully… the second you enter lotus or Ponds sectionn… they will hoard you with their mam’s u use this.. that… 😛
    this post just reminded me of many of such incidences and know what… i got the idea for my next topic 😛

    Reply
    • 33. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm

      He he…seems now a days its same everywhere rajlakshmi :)….its up to us to be carefull
      @ got the idea for my……wow that is cool….do share your experiances with us rajlakshmi 😀

      Reply
  • 34. Nimmy  |  November 7, 2009 at 12:14 am

    🙂

    On one hand i get irritated when they pester,but on the other hand,i feel sad and try not to be rude as they are doing it for a livehood…Hadn’t i been so lucky to have a good enviornment,maybe i too would have been one among those ladies 🙂

    Reply
    • 35. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:20 pm

      exactly nimmi chechi :D…..hmmm everyone will not be priveleged like others

      Reply
  • 36. Silverine  |  November 8, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Whew! Someone else feels the same. I hate going to H&G because of the sales girls. Had one bad exp and then stopped going there. Recently had to go there as some stuff I use is always available there and found the staff better behaved. They mix aggression and snobbishness in equal measure to intimidate you. Once a sales gal bough a 3k face cream and enquired mockingly if it interested me. I asked her if there was anything more expensive. Her eyes popped out. She was clearly not trained to tackle a Silverine! :>

    Reply
    • 37. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:23 pm

      wow that was classic…..
      clearly not trained to tackle a Silverine!…. LMAOF 😀 ….that was a killer one silverine….no one can beat U in leg pulling , girl :D…….

      Reply
  • 38. How do we know  |  November 8, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Really? i must look totally impoverished.. my experience with sales staff is that they dont even want to show u the products.. i need a new wardrobe – NOW!

    Reply
    • 39. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:25 pm

      welcome here ‘how do we know’ 😀
      hehe…come to metros…i swear you will say that,your present experiances are better

      Reply
  • 40. Nancy  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    LOL that was funny 🙂

    Every year when I go on vacation I visit H&G atleast once to pick up my favourite brand of combs “Roots”. Those combs are really good, try them 😉
    Nope they are not paying me to tell u this. As a chechi I have ur best interests at heart 😀

    Reply
    • 41. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      haaaaaaaa so sweet 🙂 ….nan dhanyanayi 😛
      thank uuuuu so much for sharing that Nancy chechi 😀 😀

      between just for a comb —–dubai to banglore and to health and glow 🙄

      Reply
  • 42. anishthomas  |  November 11, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Hi all ,I was out of staion for few days….will reach your latest posts ASAP 🙂

    Reply
  • 43. Neha  |  May 14, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    This is why u gave me a lecture about health n glow!!

    Am also a victim like u.

    good !!

    Reply
    • 44. Anish  |  May 15, 2011 at 3:12 pm

      First of all welcome to my space ‘Jaan’var 🙂 …
      yeah not only u n me….lots of people are victim of them 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,854 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

