A ‘noisy’ problem

October 19, 2009 at 12:13 pm 28 comments

Sometime back coz of this severe ear pain, I decided to pay a visit to my neighbor Dr:Ravi’s clinic. After the normal check up he prescribed some medicine for cold and he asked me, if I use ipod \mp3 player. I nodded my head and he just smiled at me and the proceeded with casual conversation. But I understood that there is something behind his question and smile (also I read an article about the same some time back). Here, I’m summarizing my conversation with him.

Me: Why did you ask that? Is there any problem in using that?
Dr: off course there is some serious problem in that, see ear drum is the most sensitive part of your body. It has a tolerance level. If you pressurize it beyond its limit, it will fail to recognize sound and some times it may result in temporary or permanent deafness. So it is not at all advisable to use foreign materials in ear. I always tell the same to everyone, But no one listen it. Especially you youngsters will tell that we want some music to relax …..Ok there is nothing wrong in that. Instead of earphones \ headphones, listen songs from speakers. Unfortunately we are the first generation who is exposed to noise pollution, so it will take few years to know the real outcome. Now a days hearing capacity of many people aged 30-35 is equivalent to the capacity of 55-60 years old.


First time in my life I had a serious discussion about this topic. I know as an experienced doctor and an Asst professor in medical college, there was a point in, what all he said. It is known fact that we all are knowingly or unknowingly contribute to noise pollution and also we are also affected directly or indirectly by its outcome. But unfortunately we can’t avoid many of the reasons for this like motor vehicle noise, horns, loudspeakers etc .I am told that, sometimes it affects our psychological as well as physical health (hypertension, high stress, high BP, sleep disturbance, irritation, loss of concentration etc. But most of us fail to recognize that this is the reason for all that). In the present world we can’t avoid many of the causes but probably we can control to a small extend.Apart from action that suppose to taken by statutes, it is high time that at least we should do what we can do for restraining this.

Entry filed under: Awareness, Personal. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

antha ‘sir’ naan thaana Chetan Bhagat’s ‘ Two states: The story of my marriage ‘

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indian Homemaker  |  October 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Anish I wish I could show to some of the members in our gym! These guys want blaring music, I also enjoy good beats and loudish music while exercising, but I notice some people are not disturbed by loud noises, in fact they need loud noises, because (I am guessing) their hearing is affected – they are mildly deaf.

    It’s sad that ears are not tested like eyes are – I am sure we will find many of us have lost our hearing to some degree.

    Very relevant post!!!

    Reply
    • 2. anishthomas  |  October 19, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      Who don’t want some good beats in gym 🙂 .Actually it charge us up more……

      yeahh i can understand that, in my house my maid is also the same..I guess now a days she is also mildly deaf
      @ ear test….very true…Actually that was the first time in my life , i visited a ENT(that too because he is my neighbour and friend).Seriously some awarness is necessary for this before it become a silent villain.

      Reply
  • 3. Indian Homemaker  |  October 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I am??!

    Oh!!!

    me : 😀

    Reply
  • 4. Smitha  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Anish, This is so relevant! I have told this to so many people I know. The volume at which people listen to music even on their ipods is scary! When I was working in London, the tubes would be full of young people listening to ipods – full volume. So loud that people near them could hear the songs. I am so sure that their hearing must have taken a hit, with all this noise..

    Reply
    • 5. anishthomas  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      same here also – bus,electric train,auto and now a days two wheller guys too 😦
      @ loud music : My maid is a good example for the same,she always put those irritating dapankutu songs in high vol, when ever no one is in house(never listen to me or my bro).Now a days we have to call her atleast three times to get her attention(seriously i feel she is having some ear prob)

      Reply
  • 6. Vimmuuu  |  October 20, 2009 at 3:59 am

    I am one of those who constantly listen to music with high volume. I know its bad, and I took so many efforts to stop it. Its tough 😦

    Reply
    • 7. anishthomas  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:21 pm

      Even i used listen songs atleast 6 hours a day long back.But when i faced the after effect once,i controled it.Now a days i use my ear phones hardly ones in a week 😀

      Reply
  • 8. Swaram  |  October 20, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Gr8 post Anish and so relevant! I listen to music almost all day long but thank God, I somehow like it on the softer side! The peppy nos. they do sound best with @ loud volumes but not so much that the entire place vibrates 😉

    My neighbours listen to music that way and we cn hear it so clearly rather more than clear @ home that I wonder hw r they even able to sit rt there and listen to it! Its no more music – its noise!

    Even the cell phones for that matter – better keep it some distance away from the ears and whenever possible, I do switch on the speaker for the conversation!

    Reply
    • 9. anishthomas  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:30 pm

      My Goodness , we are in an apartment.So here people are aware about others 😀 .So haven’t faced anything like that yet 🙂
      @ Cellphone — Swaram , we are yet to know the real outcome of all these(like life style diseases now)

      Reply
  • 10. Happy Kitten  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    That was a good and informative read.. while I like to hear softly the rest in our house wants everything loud! nd I should show your post to my daughter who loves her pods too much.. nd even if I keep reminding her that it is not good she seems to be stuck…

    Reply
    • 11. anishthomas  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:40 pm

      First of all you should not let her use ipod\earphones.It is not at all advisable for children under 13-15
      Lound music for short period is fine.But after that it will be tedious

      Reply
  • 12. Rajlakshmi  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:54 am

    It seems my ears are healthier.. I dnt use earphones and its been ages since i had heard loud music 🙂 .. Very informative post. And really some serious awareness is required

    Reply
    • 13. anishthomas  |  October 21, 2009 at 1:10 pm

      First of all RajLakshmi , welcome here 🙂

      so u r sure that u got healthy ears,lucky girl 😀
      Kudos 2 U for avoiding ear phone,even i’m also limited ear phone usage now a days.
      Seriously some good awarness required for this problem

      Reply
  • 14. Deeps  |  October 21, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    no more earphones/headphones…speakers it is..blaring danganakka songs 😀

    Jokes apart,a relevant post,Anish.Noise pollution is at an all time high today.Its time we realized how much it is negatively affecting our lives.

    Reply
    • 15. anishthomas  |  October 21, 2009 at 5:09 pm

      Hey welcome here deeps 🙂
      very true ,unfortunately 😦 …sigh

      Reply
  • 16. kanagu  |  October 21, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Nice post machi… me too heard the songs continously in my headphone.. but got ear pain and decided to shut that habit slowly..

    and these days I am hearing for atmost an hour only… I am preferring to hear by speakers these days.. 🙂

    Reply
    • 17. anishthomas  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:34 pm

      Same here kanagu…u won’t believe , once upon a time i used to use my mp3 player 7-8 hours a day.Goodness i shut that habbit completely.Now a days i rarely use it…hardly once in a week
      yeahh 1 hour a day at moderate sound is okay,still it is better to listen from speakers 🙂

      Reply
  • 18. Dreamer  |  October 22, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Informative post. I was aware that we should not let kids use headphones and have often denied my son’s repeated requests. But I was not aware that it was bad for grown ups too. I for one am guilty as charged. Sometimes I do turn up the volume on my headphones, esp for my fav songs.

    Reply
    • 19. anishthomas  |  October 22, 2009 at 1:35 pm

      very good dreamer , you should never let them use it.i’m guilty that, before i used give my music player to my nephews and kids at neighbourhood …anyways not anymore now 🙂

      Reply
  • 20. Smita  |  October 22, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Oh!!!

    I have the earphones plugged in whenever am working!! It helps me concentrate!!! This is bad news with capital B

    Reply
    • 21. anishthomas  |  October 23, 2009 at 10:53 am

      Hi , welcome here smita 🙂

      it was same with me some times back. Unfortunately it is not good for our ears 😦 .

      Reply
  • 22. mathew  |  October 23, 2009 at 11:26 am

    i am a guilty person too..who listens to loud music using a headphone…though i dont use the plug-in kind of ear phones….been taking a conscious effort to use it as less as possible…..

    Reply
    • 23. anishthomas  |  October 23, 2009 at 2:26 pm

      Now a days most of us can’t live without headphones \earphones.But unfortunatily most of us are not aware about its after effect…..
      Anyways good 2 hear that u r taking some effort tocontrol it 🙂

      Reply
  • 24. Suji!  |  October 23, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Well… now I liked this post for its relevance in the present world. I really liked it. Yes you are absolutely right, those little things we tend to ignore now may end up to be most horrible things soon! Good write mate!

    Reply
    • 25. anishthomas  |  October 23, 2009 at 7:20 pm

      Glad U liked it buddy 🙂 .
      But unfortunatily , here every day i’m spotting lot of people in two wheelers ,pedestrians and people waiting at the bus stops with ear phone plugged in.

      Reply
  • 26. black hattitude  |  October 30, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Hi,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    Reply
  • 27. Lawrence Schul  |  February 11, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for first aid for a heart attack and your post looks very interesting for me.

    Reply
  • 28. Team Roster  |  October 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Best you should make changes to the page title A ‘noisy’ problem My Views and Wishes to more better for your subject you create. I liked the blog post however.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,854 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

