My hemophobia – Some ‘Blood’y Tales

May 31, 2009 at 5:00 pm 11 comments

I was taking a nap on a lazy Saturda afternoon.Mummyyyyyyyyyy ahhhhhhhh….my nephew’s howling woke me up. First I ignored it, coz I thought it will be a usual stuff, like fighting with his younger brother or something like that. But I was shocked to see him in a pool of blood. We didn’t understand what happened for a moment, what we have seen is a big wound on his fore head. The boy was scared badly and I was trying to console him and trying to keep him cool, by holding his head with a thick piece of cotton. My bother and we rushed to nearest hospital to dress his wound up .Once I reach hospital and they moved his to dressing room, I started feeling uneasy. I felt like I’m gonna faint or vomiting. In fact after cleaning it up, it wasn’t a big wound. But the sight and smell of blood made me sick. Actually I was sweating badly  in the AC room.

While i was waiting in reception room, I recalled my medical test during my college admission. I have a problem with blood. Yeahh Hemophobia, like the very sight of the blood of another person or an animal, and sometimes printed or filmed images of blood or even thoughts of blood make me dreaded. As I was standing in a queue for my blood test, I was telling this to my friend who were standing next to me. That genius nodded his head with a sweet smile and showed me a tube and asked me, is you scared of this also. (It was like blood was rising in a long tube like mercury from a guy’s vain). After giving a look to that I don’t know what happened to me .when I woke up, I was in air and some persons were carrying me. (I asked myself isn’t the way they take blood test in Coimbatore (buying lifting the patient up in the air) coz I didn’t know I was fainted that time).Anyways that incident gave me lot of publicity J .Being a first year student I didn’t have to introduce myself to many of batch mates coz before I start, they will tell with a smile “I know you……”.The best part is after three years when my roommate introduced me to this cute girl from his class, she was telling me like ,”hey I know you ,you were the one who fainted during medical test……..”.That time only I understood the publicity I have got.

These are the very few among lot of incidents. I know I’m not the only person suffering from this problem But I want a solution for this. Come-on, my friends or closer one want me during some emergency, I can’t turn my face and run away. Someone please help me to get away from this problem.Seriously, I’m fed up

Entry filed under: Personal. Tags: , , , .

Racist Attacks on Indians in Australia In the memmory of that “Passing the secret”

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Winnie the Poohi  |  June 1, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    dont look 😀

    Reply
    • 2. anishthomas  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:39 pm

      nooooooooooooooo 😦 …. i wanna change myself ….someone gimmme courage pls ….. :p

      Reply
  • 3. deepsm25  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I am sure there is a way out of this. Have you looked up for some solutions on the Internet? Also, when you see something like this, program your mind to focus on the person you love rather than the gory sight..see and think it this way, that you being there is a lot more important to that person and he/she probably needs you there.

    Reply
    • 4. anishthomas  |  June 2, 2009 at 9:29 am

      First of all, deeps Welcome to my blog!!! :p ,
      hey thanks for the tip 🙂 …..yeahh thatz wht i’m trying to do now …..hopefully that will work for me 🙂 ….

      Reply
  • 5. Ordinary Guy  |  June 4, 2009 at 2:55 am

    Aliyaaaaa 🙂
    best of luck…….
    The only way to steel yourself would be to directly face that fear. Look at it time and again………… It will solve the phobia…… 😛 😛

    what say? Since you anyways eat meat, it should not be a problem…………..
    go to a slaughter house and look at all the blood 😛
    only suggestion I have………… 😛

    Reply
    • 6. anishthomas  |  June 4, 2009 at 3:35 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion in aliya 🙂
      about slaughter house.If i go there,I’m sure the very next second i will faint there and end up becoming a vegetarian in my rest of the life.I don’t want that 😛 .I guess the first suggestion is better

      Reply
  • 7. Smitha  |  June 4, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    🙂 I really wonder if there is a solution 🙂 Thabk god you are not in the medical profession 🙂
    LOL – at the ‘publicity’ 🙂

    For some reason, your updates did not come up on my reader and I just dropped by to find that I have missed quite a few of your posts 😦

    Reply
    • 8. anishthomas  |  June 4, 2009 at 6:06 pm

      yeahh thank god 🙂 … at least my parents didn’t force me to take up medical profession.I always ask my sister how she manage surgery,accident emergency and all.Goodness she don’t have this problem
      @ publicity …. hehe :P…….coz of that i lost a few proposals also 😦 , thatz the other side of story
      @Updates….i don’t know much about that.probably u haven’t add me in your blog surfer .anyways i will add a feed burner widget shortly in my blog,thank U so much for letting me know that.

      Reply
  • 9. My Views and Wishes  |  June 5, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    […] to give lot of games and exercises in the class. My bench mates were my good friend and roomie MG (same smarty of my blood test case) and AT.MG was studied in one of the top school in Cochin and when I first met him, he was studious […]

    Reply
  • 10. Not Another Ragging Story « My Views and Wishes  |  November 13, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    […] I was thrilled to get a tough arrogant girl to rag .When I came back to class I told my best friend MG about the same Me: dude I’m gonna a rag a girl from second year. Heard she is very arrogant. MG: […]

    Reply
  • 11. Stranger  |  February 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Pretty cool place you’ve got here. Thanx for it. I like such topics and everything connected to them. I would like to read a bit more on that blog soon.

    Truly yours

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBSCRIBE TO MY FEED

Blog Stats

  • 35,551 hits

Live Traffic Feed

Listed At

Calendar

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

